Salary Structure

Lagos State Civil Service Salary Structure: How Much Staff Earns

The Lagos State Civil Service stands as a pivotal force in the Nigerian government, playing a crucial role in the state’s administration. With a vast and significant workforce, the Lagos State Civil Service adheres to a well-defined salary structure determined by the state government’s rules and regulations. In this blog post, we will delve into the intricacies of the salary structure, shedding light on the various factors that influence it.

Salary Structure Overview:

The salary structure for civil servants in Lagos State is organized into 17 grade levels, each corresponding to a specific basic salary. These grade levels serve as a key determinant in establishing an employee’s baseline income. The basic salary acts as the foundation, upon which additional allowances are built.

Here is an overview of the basic salary for each grade level in the Lagos State Civil Service:

  • Grade Level 1: ₦62,000
  • Grade Level 2: ₦63,500
  • Grade Level 3: ₦64,950
  • Grade Level 4: ₦66,385
  • Grade Level 5: ₦67,813
  • Grade Level 6: ₦69,242
  • Grade Level 7: ₦70,670
  • Grade Level 8: ₦72,098
  • Grade Level 9: ₦73,526
  • Grade Level 10: ₦74,955
  • Grade Level 11: ₦76,383
  • Grade Level 12: ₦77,811
  • Grade Level 13: ₦79,239
  • Grade Level 14: ₦80,667
  • Grade Level 15: ₦82,095
  • Grade Level 16: ₦83,523
  • Grade Level 17: ₦84,951


Beyond the basic salary, civil servants in Lagos State enjoy a range of allowances designed to alleviate the financial burden associated with daily living expenses. These allowances contribute significantly to the overall compensation package and include:

  1. Housing Allowance: Assisting employees in meeting accommodation costs.
  2. Transport Allowance: Supporting commuting expenses for work-related activities.
  3. Medical Allowance: Addressing health-related expenses for employees and their dependents.
  4. Food Allowance: Alleviating the costs of daily sustenance.
  5. Uniform Allowance: Providing financial assistance for work attire.
  6. Leave Allowance: Compensating for expenses incurred during authorized leave periods.
  7. Training Allowance: Supporting professional development through financial assistance for training programs.


Understanding the salary structure for civil servants in Lagos State is essential for both employees and those interested in the workings of the state’s civil service. By recognizing the factors that influence salary determination and the range of allowances provided, individuals can gain a comprehensive insight into the compensation framework that underpins the functioning of the Lagos State Civil Service.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button