Salary Structure

Kano State Civil Service Salary Structure: How Much Staff Earn

In the heart of Nigeria, the Kano State Civil Service stands as a vital entity, comprising dedicated government employees working tirelessly to contribute to the state’s progress. Central to the functioning of this service is the carefully crafted salary structure, a subject governed by the state government’s civil service rules and regulations. In this blog post, we will delve into the details of the salary structure, shedding light on the various components that make up the compensation for civil servants in Kano State.

Understanding the Salary Structure:

The salary structure for civil servants in Kano State is organized into 17 distinct grade levels, each determining the basic salary for employees. This structure takes into account crucial factors such as grade level, experience, and qualifications, ensuring a fair and equitable compensation system. Let’s explore the basic salary associated with each grade level:

  • Grade Level 1: ₦68,000
  • Grade Level 2: ₦71,000
  • Grade Level 3: ₦73,000
  • Grade Level 4: ₦75,000
  • Grade Level 5: ₦85,000
  • Grade Level 6: ₦102,000
  • Grade Level 7: ₦134,000
  • Grade Level 8: ₦170,000
  • Grade Level 9: ₦203,000
  • Grade Level 10: ₦236,000
  • Grade Level 11: ₦271,000
  • Grade Level 12: ₦301,000
  • Grade Level 13: ₦330,000
  • Grade Level 14: ₦369,000
  • Grade Level 15: ₦399,000
  • Grade Level 16: ₦451,000
  • Grade Level 17: ₦512,000

Supplementary Allowances:

Beyond the basic salary, civil servants in Kano State are entitled to a range of allowances, strategically designed to alleviate the financial burdens associated with daily living and other essential expenses. Here are some of the key allowances that form part of the compensation package:

  1. Housing Allowance: Assisting employees in meeting the costs associated with accommodation.
  2. Transport Allowance: Supporting civil servants in commuting to and from their workplaces.
  3. Medical Allowance: Addressing healthcare needs by providing financial assistance for medical expenses.
  4. Food Allowance: Acknowledging the importance of nutrition, an allowance is designated for food expenses.
  5. Uniform Allowance: Ensuring that employees in roles requiring uniforms are adequately supported.
  6. Leave Allowance: Providing financial support during periods of approved leave, recognizing the need for rest and recreation.


the Kano State Civil Service’s commitment to fair compensation is evident in its structured salary system. By considering various factors, including grade level, experience, and qualifications, the state government ensures that civil servants are rewarded for their dedication. The supplementary allowances further demonstrate the state’s recognition of the challenges faced by employees, aiming to enhance their overall well-being. As civil servants continue to play a pivotal role in the development of Kano State, this transparent and comprehensive compensation system stands as a testament to the state’s commitment to a thriving and motivated workforce.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button