Salary Structure

EFCC SALARY STRUCTURE: Ranks And Salary In Nigeria

In the fight against economic and financial crimes, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) stands as a formidable force within the Nigerian federal government. Established in 2003, the EFCC has evolved into one of Nigeria’s most influential anti-corruption agencies. One key aspect of its effectiveness lies in its well-defined hierarchical rank structure, encompassing a diverse range of positions, responsibilities, and corresponding salaries.

EFCC Ranks Overview:

The EFCC’s hierarchical structure is organized into 14 ranks, categorized into four distinct levels. Each level represents a stage of an officer’s career, reflecting their experience and expertise gained within the EFCC.

Level 3 to 6: Entry-Level Ranks

  • Graduate Assistant: NGN158,000 salary, Entry-level officer
  • Detective Assistant: NGN170,700 salary, Entry-level officer

Level 7 to 10: Mid-Level Ranks

  • Detective Inspector: NGN201,000 salary, Mid-level officer
  • Deputy Superintendent: NGN245,000 salary, Mid-level officer

Level 11 to 13: Senior-Level Ranks

  • Superintendent: NGN303,200 salary, Senior-level officer
  • Chief Superintendent: NGN324,300 salary, Senior-level officer
  • Assistant Commander: NGN364,400 salary, Senior-level officer
  • Deputy Commander: NGN434,500 salary, Senior-level officer
  • Chief Commander: NGN476,600 salary, Senior-level officer

Level 14: Top-Level Rank

  • Assistant Commandant General: NGN566,700 salary, Senior-level officer
  • Chairman: The top-level rank is reserved for the Chairman of the EFCC.

Responsibilities Across Ranks:

Each rank within the EFCC carries specific responsibilities commensurate with the officer’s experience and expertise. Entry-level officers are tasked with foundational roles, while mid-level and senior-level officers take on more complex and critical assignments in the detection, investigation, and prosecution of economic and financial crimes.


The salaries associated with each rank reflect the Nigerian government’s commitment to recognizing the value and dedication of EFCC officers. The compensation structure is designed to attract and retain skilled professionals who play a vital role in safeguarding the nation’s economic integrity.


The EFCC’s hierarchical structure and salary system underscore the organization’s commitment to combating economic and financial crimes. As we delve into 2023, these ranks not only signify a career progression but also represent the collective efforts of dedicated individuals working to uphold the principles of justice and integrity within Nigeria’s financial landscape.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button