Salary Structure

Federal Fire Service Salary Structure in Nigeria

If you’re considering a career with the Federal Fire Service (FFS) in Nigeria, understanding the salary structure is crucial. This article delves into the details of the FFS salary system, providing insights into the various ranks and corresponding annual salaries for firefighters employed by the federal government.

Federal Fire Service:

An Overview The Federal Fire Service is Nigeria’s primary firefighting agency, established by an Act of Parliament to mitigate, prevent, and extinguish fires and other emergencies. Dating back to 1901, the FFS has evolved and expanded its responsibilities, including regulating state and private firefighting services, promoting fire education, and ensuring fire safety standards.

Departments within the FFS:

The FFS is organized into several departments, each with distinct responsibilities:

  1. Supply and Administration: Manages appointments, employee well-being, and general administration.
  2. Enforcement, Investigation, and Inspectorate (IIE): Inspects public buildings to certify fire safety.
  3. Management of Disasters: Investigates fire origins and associated dangers.
  4. Statistics, Policy, Planning, and Research (PPRS): Develops policies, compiles fire statistics, and oversees information technology.
  5. Operations: Handles firefighting, rescues, and topography assessments.
  6. National Fire Service Academy (NFA): Meets training needs, implements fire safety education, and conducts research.

Zonal Commands of the FFS:

The FFS is organized into various Zonal Commands across Nigeria, each overseeing specific states.

  1. Zone A: Benue (HQ), Nasarawa, Plateau.
  2. Zone B: Kano (HQ), Katsina, Jigawa, Kaduna.
  3. Zone C: Bauchi (HQ), Yobe, Borno.
  4. Zone E: Akwa Ibom (HQ), Cross Rivers, Rivers.
  5. Zone F: Lagos, Ogun, Oyo.
  6. Zone G: Niger, Kogi, Kwara.
  7. Zone H: Sokoto, Zamfara, Kebbi.
  8. Zone I: Adamawa, Taraba, Gombe.
  9. Zone J: Imo, Abia.

Federal Fire Service Salary Structure:

The compensation structure for FFS officers is based on ranks, following the Consolidated Paramilitary Salary Structure (CONPASS). Here are selected annual salaries from highest to lowest:

  1. Chief Inspector (CI) – N1,405,449
  2. Deputy Chief Inspector (DCI) – N1,325,234
  3. Assistant Chief Inspector (ACI) – N1,252,038
  4. Principal Marshal Inspector (PMI) – N1,143,539
  5. Senior Marshal Inspector (SMI) – N1,058,416
  6. Marshal Inspector I (MI-I) – N777,876
  7. Marshal Inspector II (MI-II) – N548,387
  8. Marshal Inspector III (MI-III) – N393,442
  9. Chief Fire Marshal Assistant (CFMA) – N966,761
  10. Deputy Fire Marshal Assistant (DFMA) – N539,048
  11. Senior Fire Marshal Assistant (SFMA) – N387,428
  12. Fire Marshal Assistant I (FMA I) – N349,589
  13. Fire Marshal Assistant II (FMA II) – N319,741
  14. Fire Marshal Assistant III (FMA III) – N305,576


This comprehensive guide provides valuable information on the Federal Fire Service’s structure, departments, Zonal Commands, and the salary scale based on ranks. If a career with the FFS is in your sights, this material serves as a useful reference for understanding what to expect in terms of monthly take-home pay. Remember, for official recruitment information, always refer to the company’s official website.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button