Salary Structure

Salary Structure of the National Judicial Council (NJC), Nigeria

In Nigeria, the National Judicial Council (NJC) plays a pivotal role in shaping the judiciary by overseeing the appointment, promotion, and discipline of judicial officers. Comprising key figures such as the Chief Justice of Nigeria, the President of the Court of Appeal, the Attorney-General of the Federation, and other distinguished judicial officers, the NJC is a crucial institution in maintaining the integrity and effectiveness of the country’s judiciary.

Determining Judicial Compensation:

The salary structure within the NJC is regulated by the Consolidated Judicial Salary Structure (CONJUSS), a comprehensive set of guidelines outlining the salaries and allowances for judicial officers across various levels.

Entry-Level Salary:

For those starting their career in the judiciary, the entry-level salary stands at N2,023,178.40 per annum, specifically for the position of Magistrate Grade III.

Salary Levels:

As judicial officers progress in their careers, their compensation follows suit. Here’s an overview of the salary levels for different positions within the judiciary:

  1. Magistrate Grade II: N2,210,082.00 per annum
  2. Magistrate Grade I: N2,415,228.40 per annum
  3. Chief Magistrate: N2,644,037.20 per annum
  4. Judge of the High Court: N3,041,460.00 per annum
  5. Justice of the Court of Appeal: N3,449,554.40 per annum
  6. Justice of the Supreme Court: N3,857,648.80 per annum


The Consolidated Judicial Salary Structure ensures that judicial officers are compensated fairly and in alignment with their experience and level of responsibility. This transparent framework not only recognizes the importance of the judiciary in upholding the rule of law but also serves as a tool for attracting and retaining qualified professionals in the legal field.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button