Marlington Alumni Association awards $121,900 in scholarships

The Marlington Alumni Association awarded a record $ 121,900 in scholarships at its recent annual banquet.

MAA President Michelle (Vaughan) Bakan (’81) welcomed nearly 300 attendees at the first in-person event in two years. The banquet was conducted virtually in 2020 and 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Bakan also reported MAA assets total more than $ 2.4 million.

Frank Carozzi (’83), chairman of the Outstanding Alumni Committee, introduced the outstanding alumni award winners from this year, along with those from 2020 and 2021.

Ron Davis

Ron Davis (’51) won the 2020 Outstanding Alumni Award. He recounted the friendships and meaningful relationships from his early years at Marlboro High School. He cited his Marlboro teachers and his father, Ford C. Davis, as role models, saying they prepared him for his role as a fighter pilot with the US Air Force, and later as president of the Buckeye Packaging Company after his father’s early death.

Mike Pauli

Mike Pauli (’68) won the 2021 Outstanding Alumni Award. He credited Marlington, his wife, Linda (Hoover) Pauli (’68) and his family for affording him a richly blessed life. Pauli said his career and business have given him the opportunity to train and work with many fellow Marlington graduates. He has owned Pauli Electric since 1975.

Steve Matthew

Steve Matthew (’79) was won the 2022 Outstanding Alumni Award. He shared memories from Marlboro Elementary School, Marlington Middle School and Marlington High School. He said winning the John D. Liber Service Award in 1979 was impactful, and said he received a valuable education in the district. Matthew acknowledged Bill Liber (’65), and announced he would make a gift to the John D. Liber Fund. Matthew is president of Wooster Hydrostatics and Fluid Power Solutions.

The group then awarded 57 scholarships to 43 students. Below are the scholarships and the identity of students who were honored:

The Marlington Alumni Association awarded a record $ 121,900 in scholarships at its recent annual banquet.  Among those who received awards were, front row from left, Connor Jackson, Aiden Dennison, Andrea Dager, Ariana Painter and Josilyn Scheible;  and, back row from left, Samantha Ryan, Taylor Maurer, Michael Stauffer, Hailey Confalone, William Lanzer and Georgia Taylor.

Andrea Dager received the Elizabeth Albright Education Scholarship and the Louise Bingham Memorial Scholarship. She will study Middle Childhood Education and Music at the University of Mount Union.

Hayden Sambroak will attend Stark State University to study Electrical Engineering. He received the Battershell Family Scholarship.

Wyatt Madison also received a Battershell Family Scholarship and will study Welding Technology at Stark State College.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button